Appleby Primary School

Appleby Primary School


Welcome to our Governing Body page. Here you can find out about the work and role of the Governing Body at Appleby Primary School. Follow the links below to meet the governors and find out more.

Important Information About Our Governors



Chair of Governors

Charlotte Birtles 

Vice Chair of Governors

Sarah Lightfoot

Clerk to Governors

Rosalind Dempsey

Chair of Teaching and Learning Committee


Sarah Lighfoot



Chair of Finance, Health and Safety Committee


 Safeguarding Governor Sarah Lightfoot
 SEND Governor  Alan Green


Teaching and Learning Committee

Finance Health and Safety Committee

Sarah Lightfoot 

Amy Wilby

Terry Caygill

David Spruce

Alan Green

Lucy Berry

Jennifer Tyson





David Spruce

Charlotte Birtles

Andrew Sterling

Debra Irving (Non voting Associate Member)





Governors Attendance Record

NameGovernor CategoryTerm of Office EndsBusiness & Pecuniary InterestsAttendance 2022/2023 Academic year
David SpruceEx Officio Headteacher, Appleby Primary School8/8
Carol BarkerStaff08/07/2024SENDCo, Appleby Primary School 5/5 (resigned 11/07/23)
Sarah LightfootCo-opted29/10/2027

Employee Appleby Grammar School

Lightfoot Stonework - husband's business

Charlotte BirtlesParent31/03/2025

Director Arnison & Company Solicitors Ltd

Close family member is governor at Appleby Grammar School

Close family member is governor at Kirkby Stephen Grammar School

Terry CaygillCo-opted10/01/2026Deputy Head Teacher Appleby Primary School4/6
Amy WilbyLocal Authority18/03/2027Teacher, Langwathby Primary School5/6
Aelswith ParkerParent03/11/2023

Volunteer Cumbria Scouts

Supply teacher Appleby Grammar School & System People Ltd

 4/6 (resigned 18/09/23)
Jonny MillerPartnership02/12/2024

Volunteer Appleby Rotary

Director Full Circle Accountancy Ltd

Consultant Seavor Chartered Accountants

6/6 (resigned 25/03/24)
Andrew SterlingCo-opted12/10/2025

Methodist Church Minister

Spouse employed by Appleby Primary School

Alan GreenPartnership30/03/2027Stem Ambassador3/3
Debra IrvingAssociate Member (non voting) 

School Business Manager, Appleby Primary School

Chief Financial Officer, Stramongate Primary School

Spouse employed by Roland Hill Plumbing & Heating Engineers

Lucy BerryCo-opted10/10/2027

Exam Invigilator, Appleby Grammar School

Jennifer TysonStaff29/11/2027Teacher, Appleby Primary SchoolN/A


Welcome to Appleby Primary School